Learning Task 6: Making Selections and Combining Images

Time to have some fun in Photoshop! For this assessment, we had to extract a selection from an image and put the selection into another image. The image we were given was an old yellow Datsun car. The view of the car was obscured by a post and some cars in the background and we had to make the car appear complete and I had to rebuild the cars wheels. I did this process by using layers, warp tools and a selection of paint tools. I also added a shadow under the car. I placed my car on an image that I got from news.com.au of an aircraft carrier.

Here’s the original image

kathycarcropsaved-for-web60

To get a clear image of the Datsun I removed the pole and chain. The wheels had to be rebuilt and I had to take some of the shadows of the car behind the Datsun out.

Here’s the original image of the aircraft carrier before the car was added

927053-x-47bnewsdotcomdotauforweb60

Here’s the above image with my car dropped in and a shadow added. I used the stealth bombers shadow to work out which direction to put the cars shadow and how thick to make it

carplane

This activity was fun. I think if you were willing to put a lot of time into this, you could almost make these images seamless. If I had my Wacom drawing tablet when I did this, it would have made the task a lot easier.

Heres my next go at this with the windows losing even more of the background and I had also left the wing mirror shadow in it in the first one .

carplane2

battlecar

Ok I had to do it , here is the new stealth Datsun ready to take to the sky’s 🙂 This isn’t really part of my assignment I just thought it looked pretty good with the fighter.

Leave a comment